Posted in August 2011

It’s Granita time!

Hey Everyone!! I was really surprised to see that my site was getting at least some traffic! I appreciate all of you who do come to visit my site and read what I write! It’s awesome to know that I’m not just doing this for a few people!! I have a awesome surprise for you all today!! It really is something that can beat the summer heat!! Now as you know some parts of the country are now hitting triple digit heat and here in Texas we have been getting that heat constant now for almost 50 days I believe!! I kind of miss the fact that New York has 80 degree weather over there =p Yes you guys over there I’m jealous!!

So to beat the heat, I had given it a thought to make some awesome GRANITA!! Now basically if you don’t know what a Granita is, it’s basically a semi frozen dessert made from juices, flavorings, and sugar. It’s frozen to create almost a slushy!! It’s just awesome when you put it in your mouth and you feel completely refreshed! The one I had made was a Grapefruit and Ginger Granita! Completely refreshing and I eat this after a meal because it cleanses the palate =]

My dad didn’t even know what a Granita was until I let him try it. He found it refreshing and he is usually picky about trying new things! Kids would love this too!! Parents this is a way to let them have a healthy dessert because sugar is not a key element in this. The natural sugar takes part from the fruits you use.

Below I have the recipe for everyone so you can all try this out!!

Grapefruit and Ginger Granita

  • 6 Large Grapefruits
  • 4 Tablespoons of Fresh Lime Juice
  • 1 Teaspoon of Freshly Grated Ginger
  • 1/4 Granulated Sugar (Or less if Grapefruit is sweet)
  • 1/4 cup of water
  1. Juice all 6 grapefruits and lime. Make sure to strain so there is no pulp.
  2. Grate ginger through strainer so the juice of it goes into the grapefruit juice. Be sure that the ginger isn’t too strong for you.
  3. In a small sauce pot heat up the sugar and water together to make a simple syrup. Once the sugar is dissolved add it to your juice.
  4. Add into your ice cream machine and let it freeze. If you do not have an ice cream machine it is easy. Add the juice into a shallow cake pan and scrape the surface when it is semi-frozen.

I hope everyone enjoys this recipe!! Really it is the easiest dessert you can do! And it is sooooo good! Remember everyone! Eat, Drink, and Tell!!